Technology is Wonderful Aint it!

Ansel Adams was one of those photographers who allegedly never fiddled with his negatives. (Except in one notable photograph – Winter Sunrise, from Lone Pine – where he quite rightly painted out a garish letter carved by students on the natural splendor of the scene.) I’m a little bit of a purist in that I like to get it right in camera. That said, I’m a big believer in using the curves tool to adjust the contrast, but I’ve always seen curves like the filters on an enlarger.

There are times, however, when the lure of Photoshop (or Gimp in my case) calls and more drastic touches are required, for example…

on the beach at Barrow-in-Furness

This kind of sums up our holiday that year, taken at Barrow-in-Furness, we were in the middle of no-where and rather than an idyllic escape, it proved to be cold, gray, windy and dull. So there we were on a pebble beach, lots of driftwood and photo potential. I capture a picture of my daughter and the tide washes ashore a pot noodle. Typical. Now, I can either accept the picture as a commentary on how scruffy the UK has become, or I can look at the pot noodle and be disappointed every time I look at it.

Thankfully, the clone tool comes to the rescue and after the obligatory tweak of curves, the image is saved. no pot noodle in sight. Cheers Gimp.

no pot noodle this time

Leave a Reply

