The Difference a Few Years Make

It’s been a busy few weeks and no time to get out with my gear, so I’ve been looking through my archive. The image below was taken at Bolton Abbey, along the Strid just under ten years ago. I’d just bought an EOS 50E and was still getting used to it, and had inadvertently added some exposure compensation so the shot is slightly over-exposed. Still, I’ve always liked this one.

Bolton Abbey fence into the water

On my return to Bolton Abbey last year, I wanted to re-create this shot and see if I could improve on it, but time waits for no-one and the focal point of the first image had been removed, and no matter what I tried, I couldn’t get a composition that I felt was as strong as the one I found years before.

Bolton Abbey without the fence

It’s a shame, because that fence made a great lead into the image. It just goes to show that when you have the chance, take the shot, because you might not get a second chance.

Leave a Reply

