All Change.

Time flies. Can’t believe it has been a few months since I last posted. To say I’ve been busy is an understatement, but, the first year of university is almost over and there’s plenty of news to come.

Of all the excuses for not posting, not having any camera gear has been a pretty good one! After Christmas it was goodbye to Nikon and a long search for a replacement. After a lot of research I opted for a return to Canon and ended up with a 60D. I like the camera and partnered with a Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4 produces really nice results. I’m loving the jump in ISO and reduction in noise and the colour rendition is really nice. (Sounds like there’s a ‘but’ coming I hear you say, and there is.)

I do miss Nikon. As a photographic tool Nikon works the way I work. I love the autofocus system, which, for me, is far better and more flexible than Canon’s. I prefer the layout of the controls, although I will give Canon the edge on the metering. The irony however, is that my DSLR is now no longer just a photographic tool and my focus (pun intended!) is moving more to video. Sadly, Nikon don’t seem to get the video thing yet, which is a shame, because Canon is running so far ahead of the video game that not even Sony can catch them up, and Sony has some nice offerings. Most of the guys I’ve teamed up with at Uni are also Canon users and the final thing that swayed me was Magic Lantern, which does some amazing things to the 60D. (A lot of buzz is being generated lately by the Raw footage ML are getting out of the 5D mark III as well.) Magic Lantern has turned Canon’s DSLR’s into a serious movie making tool for independent film-makers. To be honest, if it wasn’t for Magic Lantern I would have gone for Sony. (I fell in love with the NEX 6 after playing with it for 5 minutes.)

So, time to catch up, post some pics, and reveal something about my next project. Gonna be fun.

Leave a Reply

